Can't seem to change values in bin file

Discuss anything TunerPro related.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

Frank_and_Beans

Can't seem to change values in bin file

Post by Frank_and_Beans »

Hey guys,

I'm new to Tunerpro, and to this site. I'm pretty familiar with hex and bins, etc.

I am working on an XDF file for a Honda OBDI P72 bin. I'm tired of using someone elses Honda bin editor which dumbs down the calibration process to the point where it is difficult to tell what items are actually being changed in the bin. The behind the scenes changes made by these bin editors (namely crome) create unwanted/unknown changes.

In any case, I am game with using Tunerpro, as it looks to be pretty powerful. I'm going to be using this purely for static bin editing - no RT required.

I have made an XDF which is fairly compreshensive, but am having some difficulties with actually editing the bin file.

For instance:

- I change a scalar value by some amount. A star appears in the editing window for that particular scalar. I then click save and the editing window closes for that scalar. The filename at the top of the screen then shows a star beside it. I press the "Save bin" button. The star beside the bin name disappears. So - at this point I'm thinking that my change has been saved. But, if I do a compare with the base bin, no changes are registered.

- I can make a change, save it, then restart Tunerpro, and the difference tool still shows no differences.

-I have tried making changes to both scalars and Tables. Same results.

-I started this process using V5. Thinking that maybe the beta was causing my problem, I downloaded 4.14. Same results.

-If I open the hex editor and manually change a value there and save the bin - the change is saved properly.

I am using Window 7 64 bit. I tried running the program in XP compatibility mode - same result.