Beginner help - BMW DME 405

Discuss Bosch (Porsche, BMW, Volvo, etc) tuning topics here. Request definitions, discuss parameters, etc.

Moderators: robertisaar, dex

mstrakl

Beginner help - BMW DME 405

Post by mstrakl »

Hi, am I Mike, from Slovenia. I am beginning my journey in the world of tuning (at least I would like to). So far, I have very little experience in tuning (MOTEC standalone on KTM engine for Formula SAE racecar). It was a school project, and I only partially participated, I did not to complete tuning myself. So for the next step, I have got myself a e34 525i NV 1991. I am planing on stroking it, but before that, I would like to get to know more about proper mapping, in order to successfully write custom map for stroked engine, when it will be built.
I have EEPROM burner and reader, LC-2 wideband O2 and some blank chips too (27C512). So to begin with I would like to make some simple changes in my map, maybe to boost power a little on stock engine (no need for dramatic changes - mybe some playing with Ignition and Fuelin?) I have managed to read stock EEPROM, and got it to work with TunerPro anlog with proper XDF - for 405 dme.

I don't know where to start tuning, first if someone could maybe explain what the values in tuner pro are. I understand what ignition in BTDC is and, RPM; but here are my two first questions? - what unis is load in, and how should i read it? Greater number - more load? And by load is that throttle position of mass air flow?

Also fueling number? Is that number anyhow proportional to injector pulse width for each cycle? Am I correctly understanding this?

Also, should I unplugg stock O2 while tuning, or should I disable it in map? If so, where can I fand O2 correction maps?